Top ten legal writing hints when the audience is a cranky federal trial judge

An essential addition to your library and refer to it every time you begin a memorandum, opposition, response or reply. Pass it along – it will truly be appreciated.

Hercules and the umpire.

I have been asked to post something about legal writing. I don’t know a damn thing about legal writing, as this blog constantly proves.  But, hey, ask and you shall receive.

A word about the literary form:  I prefer the “top-ten” form for trenchant legal analysis. Awhile back A while back (I have no clue which one is correct), and using this form, I wrote a piece about their Eminences and the mess they made of the federal Sentencing Guidelines.  In some circles, it was well-received.  Therefore, and proving that you can’t teach an old judge new tricks (or shticks), I once again adopt the genre for this series of profound musings.
So, here are my top ten hints for submitting briefs to me and other all-knowing beings who ascend the federal trial bench, both literally and figuratively:
10.Get a good editor.  Never send me something unless someone…

View original post 519 more words

Leave a Reply

