THERE ARE MARKED DIFFERENCES BETWEEN AN AUDIT AND A FORENSIC EXAMINATION!

IMHO (and I’m not an attorney, nor do I play one on TV yet) I believe it is criminal and akin to aiding and abetting criminal activity not to audit land records in every county in every state.

Clouded Titles Blog

The author of this post is a consultant to attorneys and county clerks and has himself participated in (along with a team of skilled auditors and examiners) BOTH processes described here.  The opinions posted are that of the author and do not constitute the rendering of legal advice. 

I am getting a lot of feedback these days from homeowners who are viewing my handiwork and wanting the same types of processes to be conducted in their respective counties.  With that in mind, I thought I’d take the time to explain the differences between the two (if I’ve hadn’t done so earlier), for clarification purposes.

A LAND RECORD AUDIT

In this process, a certain time frame is determined as the subject of the audit. Generally, I like to look two years before and after a given target date.  Some county clerks have asked me to submit a bid based on a much…

View original post 1,891 more words

Leave a Reply

